Best of 08 – Top 5 Television Episodes of 2008

These are my personal favourites of what I think are the best TV episodes of the year.  The pattern continues because all choices are only from two shows.  Though they are my favourite two TV shows at the moment.  You might find these choices bias but I don’t think anyone can deny that these episodes deserve to be on a list like this.  Remember these do contain spoilers.

5) Parricide – The Shield

If you read my review of the episode you’ll know what I felt about this episode.  I raved about how it was the best episode of the season and it was up until that point.  It is one of the finest episodes of the show.  It keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout as you see Shane trying to fix the situation he has caused.  The acting in this episode is phenomenal, especially from Walton Goggins.  This is the moment that lays the foundations for the remaining episodes of the season.  This is the beginning of the end of the remaining members of The Strike Team.

4) There’s No Place Like Home Part 2/3 – Lost

I know these are two episodes but they were aired in one go so I’m including this as one episode.  Watching them separately would have been agony but they were written to be viewed together so I’m classing it as one episode.  The finale of season 4 of Lost is full of action, emotional and answers to questions we’ve had for a while.  The culmination of my favourite season of the show.  Lost knows how to do season finales well and this is no different.

3) Possible Kill Screen – The Shield

The penultimate episode of the show sets up the finale brilliantly.  You’re exhausted by the end of the episode.  Michael Chiklis and CCH Pounder are exceptional in this episode.  Vic confesses all of his past deeds to Olivia so he can get his immunity.  While Claudette walks in and finds out the man she’s been trying to send to prison will walk free of all his past crimes.  You won’t find better acting from Chiklis in his confession scene.

2) The Constant – Lost

Time put this choice at number 1 and well my number 1 choice they put at numer 2.  I thought hard about these final two episodes and wondered what positions they would get.  I loved both of these episodes.  I shed tears at both of these episodes.  Lost’s fifth episode of season 4 was exceptional.  My favourite episode of the enitre show.  This episode will leave you emotional while confussing the hell out of you as you try to figure out what you just watched.  Exceptional television even if you’re a fan or not.

1) Family Meeting – The Shield

You’ll know my feelings on the final episode if you’ve read my review.  There’s not much else for me to say as why this is my number one choice.  It’s The Shield, this had to be my number one.  One of the finest series finales to one of the finest television shows in history.  Everything was wrapped up beautifully while some things we left open to our imaginations.  By the end you don’t feel sad that it’s over, you feel privileged to have been part of a wonderful TV show.

Leave a comment