TV Show Of The Week – Entourage

Yeah, I lied and I’m sorry.  In my Weeds article of TV Show Of The Week, I promised that this segment would be out every week and last week I broke that promise and didn’t post a TVSOTW.  Sometimes I get too busy and just can’t post so I’m going to say from now on that this might not be weekly but I will try my damn hardest to try and keep this category active.

Entourage is another show that I only recently got into.  It was only last year that a friend and I went through all four seasons of this wonderful HBO show about the rise of a young, talented Hollywood actor and his childhood friends.  I was initially quite shocked how funny the show actually was, I had seen adverts and clips of the show and didn’t think too much of it.  Like with Weeds, one episode just wasn’t enough, you had to keep watching, half and hour goes too quick when these shows are this funny.

The greatest aspect of the show is the characters, Drama and Ari being my personal favourites.  Drama for being a complete and utter but lovable douche who often says the wrong things or gets himself into crazy situations.  Ari though just steals every scene he’s in, Jeremy Piven is a genius, he’s created such an asshole but one which you could never hate, how could you hate Ari when he does things like this…

The concept of the show is brilliant, it often takes the piss out of the entertainment industry which is great.  The writing and acting is superb, as already mentioned Jeremy Piven always gives his best but all of the main cast are excellent, even the recurring guest stars are wonderful, Billy Walsh has to be given a mention.  It’s a great ensemble cast and I think shows with a good working ensemble cast work better.  The main five characters of Vince, Drama, E, Turtle and Ari all are very different to one another but all bring something different and unique to the show.  The chemistry between them is what works the most, you can see they all work well together and have fun working with each other.

If you’ve never seen the show then all I have to say to you people is try and get the DVDs now, you’ll not regret it.  Entourage is an extremely entertaining and funny show and if you sometimes like your humour crude then you’re going to love this.  Another incentive is that season 5 of the show airs September 7 (in America) so get the DVDs and spend the next month watching this show.