Heroes – Season 3, Episode 12 Review

3.12 Our Father


Hiro and Claire are hanging out in the past.

Remember this will be a SPOILER review.  Click read more for the review.

A 100% approval over that disastrous two part episode.  I was very fond of this episode and it’s one of the best of the season.  More time was focused on certain characters and all had a purpose within the episode.  The episode gave us a heartfelt moment and some genuine laughs.  We’re only one episode left for the volume and it’s looking good.

As we know from the last episode, Hiro took Claire back 16 years to the moment that Noah was given Clairebear.  They both separate, Hiro stays as he finds out his mother is a healer and could possibly make him remember.  In one of the finest moments of the show, older Hiro who only has the mind of a ten year old tells his mother who he is.  She does heal him and he remembers, he remembers how he misses his mother and they both begin to cry.  A beautiful, emotional scene which made me a little sad.  For one moment, Heroes showed that it can do drama.  The audience is not invested emotionally with the story or characters but for this one moment I cared.

Claire goes off to make sure that the catalyst isn’t put into her infant self.  She meets her mother and even gets to change her own diaper.  She stops Noah from putting the catalyst into her.  Now I could go on about the paradox’s within this storyline.  I could go on forever and make little diagrams because I’m very anal when it comes to time travel but I won’t.  Heroes has proved that it doesn’t rely on the physics of time travel so I won’t nitpick at it.

Back in present day, Nathan takes the realms of Pinehurst and the plan of injecting powers into people begins.  Firstly they will be testing them on military personal.

Angela tells Peter to go and kill Arthur.  With the Haitian in tow, he goes off to Pinehurst.  It was quite a shock to see the end of Arthur, Robert Forster is a fine actor and he brought some class to the show.  Though this is Heroes, remember he does have the healing power that he took from Peter.  I’m assuming the bullet is in his brain.  As long as it’s still inside, he’ll still be dead.

Sylar is back to what he’s good at.  Elle is certainly dead which is a shame, I love Kirsten Bell so I hope we’ll be seeing her in something new soon.  Quinto was really good in this episode.  He seems to enjoy the killer wisecracking Sylar a lot.  The cake scene and elevator ones showed me that maybe having this Sylar back isn’t too bad.

The last episode of volume 3 is on next week and with the formula perfected and people can now be given powers; the future we saw earlier in the season is coming true.  All I’m hoping is Hiro isn’t stuck in the past for too long.  We don’t want a repeat performance of that please.

Quote of the episode: Sylar “It does kind of tingle.”

Favourite Scene: Hiro and his mother.

2 Responses to Heroes – Season 3, Episode 12 Review

  1. sahar009 says:

    Great review! I also noticed that it looks like, even after everything had been done to avoid the ‘future’ that was being predicted in Season 1, everything is falling in place for another version of it to happen. I also loved the scene between Hiro and his mother – so sweet. Sylar was definitely the best, but my favorite Sylar quote was a silent one – when he was in the elevator with the other man :) You did a great plot review – I’m more of a ‘concept’ reviewer – let me know what you think! http://saharsblog.wordpress.com/2008/12/10/review-heroes-season-3-episode-11/

  2. pt says:

    this is the best episode of the season 3 and of season 2. Really reminded me of the beauty of season 1. So far fugitives looks amazing.

Leave a comment