My Fall 2008 Lineup

These are my picks of the shows that I will be watching come this fall.  For some of these shows we’re only a week away from their start and that is very exciting.  It’s basically been eight/nine months without many new seasons.  All I had earlier on in the year was Lost and some other shows that I decided to watch because there was nothing else on.  This for me will be one my most anticipated fall lineups in a long time.  The shows on this list are ones that start in September or October.  Shows like 24 and Lost are not included because they start in the new year.  I will do a Mid Season 2009 Lineup closer to the year’s end.  All choices come with when the new season of that show airs.  Plus they will contain trailers for the new seasons, if they don’t contain a trailer, I will include it in the post when one surfaces.

Heroes

There’s a lot riding on this season, we all know what needs to be done if they want to keep viewers.  Season 2 was a huge drop in quality, it had a couple of decent episodes but overall it was just sad to see the show declining.  Some may say it was down to the writers strike and that might be the case but we’ve got a full season now so there’s no excuses.

The third season airs September 22nd

The Shield

It’s been nearly 18 months since the end of season 6, we’ve waited a long time but it’s nearly here.  It’s exciting but also very sad as we’ve got to the final season of the show.  There isn’t any other show I’m looking forward to this fall more than this, no other show can match this.  I can’t imagine how it will end but it’s going to be a sad day because one of my favourite TV shows will be ending.

The seventh and final season airs September 2nd

CSI/New York/Miami

This past season I got back into regularly watching all three CSI’s, I like my TV and sometimes I want to watch shows that aren’t serial shows so CSI is perfect.  All three CSI’s this past season ended on a cliffhanger so I’m looking forward to how those stories will be resolved.

CSI:Vegas Promo

CSI:Crime Scene Investigation season nine airs October 9th
CSI:New York season five airs September 24th
CSI:Miami season seven airs September 22nd

Prison Break

The third season was very disappointing but again the writers strike had a hand in that.  We’ve got a full season so let’s hope it can remind us of the magic the show once had.  I’m certainly looking forward to it, it’s mindless entertainment but it’s so much fun.

The fourth season airs September 1st

Smallville

We’re on the eighth season and this show doesn’t seem to want to stop.  I will admit that Smallville isn’t what it used to be, it’s a shell of it’s former self and that is quite sad.  Michael Rosenbaum who plays Lex is no longer with the show, plus Kristin Kreuk (Lana) will only be around for a few episodes.  The show needs to end and end now but I don’t see the end of the series tunnel.  I’ve put in seven years of my life with this show, I won’t give up on it.

The eighth season airs September 18th

Gossip Girl

I watched the first season a couple of months back, mainly due to not having anything to watch and I got to say I actually quite like it.  It was funny and the girls in it are hot, which is good enough for me.

The second season airs September 1st

Californication

One of the new best shows last year, I loved this show and I loved Duchovny.  It’s funny, crude and it’s just damn good TV, just the way I like it.

The second season airs September 28th

Dirty Sexy Money

When the writers strike was going on and there being no shows, I came across this show and decided to give it a watch.  I was again quite surprised at how much I liked the show.  We’ll see how the second season goes as I watched this show when there was nothing else on, it might be different now that all my favourite shows are back.

The second season airs October 1st

Knight Rider

I wasn’t too fond of the TV movie and I’m not too sure if I see myself lasting a complete season but I will give it a go.  I loved the original Knight Rider, so nostalgia will probably automatically make me dislike this attempt of a revival but we’ll see.

The first season airs September 24th

Terminator: The Sarah Conner Chronicles

The first season wasn’t too great, I stuck with it though because it was a short nine episode season but the last few episodes showed promise.  The trailer sure makes things look interesting, again I’ll give it a chance.

The second season airs September 8th

Entourage

Been a long wait for Entourage fans but we’re close to the fifth season.  As I’ve mentioned before, I powered through the first four seasons last year and I had a great time, I’m looking forward for it’s return and I hope it’s as funnier and crude than ever.

The fifth season airs September 7th

New Shows

Fringe

You can read my review on the first episode, it had promise, let’s hope that promise delivers and gives us another great show.  Only time will tell.

The first season airs September 9th

Sons of Anarchy

This is one I’m going to keep my eye on.  It’s an FX show and from one of the writers of The Shield.  The show is about life in a motorcycle gang who run guns for profit.  Not much else is known which is great, I can go into this show with hardly any knowledge.  Though from the trailer, this looks like this could be my favourite new show of the Fall.

The first season airs September 3rd

Life on Mars

Americans do like taking our shows but honestly I was never a fan of the British version but that was due to the show not delving into the mythology of what happened to the character of Sam.  Though the American version will seem to be focusing on this which is great.  Plus Harvey Keitel has been cast as Gene Hunt, for me a much better choice than original Colm Meaney.

The first season airs October 9th

One Response to My Fall 2008 Lineup

  1. You know I hate to see William Petersen leave the show because he’s such a quirky character. However, I think Laurence Fishburn will be an excellent replacement. Apocalypse Now, Boyz n the Hood, What’s Love Got to Do with It?, Searching for Bobby Fischer, Just Cause, The Tuskegee Airment, Othello, Miss Evers’ Boys, The Matrix, Mystic River, Akeelah and the Bee, Mission Impossible III, 21. How can you beat credits like that?

Leave a comment